The Le Sueur Fire Department is staffed by a group of highly-trained volunteers and who are on-call 24 hours per day, 7 days a week.  Our mission is to save lives and protect property, in that order.


The Le Sueur Fire Department was established in 1882.  This department is owned by the City of Le Sueur and supported with tax dollars by all residents of the service area.  Additional funds come from user fees and donations.

Area Served

Le Sueur Fire serves an area of approximately 100 square miles, with a population of about 2100 households.  Included in this area are the City of Le Sueur, and the townships of; Derrynane, Henderson, Lake Prairie, Ottawa, and Tyrone.

We also have a mutual aid system with surrounding towns for additional assistance, when needed.

Educational Services

Le Sueur Fire Department Volunteers teach fire prevention to elementary students during Fire Prevention Month in October.  In addition, we participate in Le Sueur's Annual Safety Camp where we educate area youth on fire prevention.

Other Services & Benefits

Each year, the Le Sueur Fire Department performs smoke alarm testing on an annual basis to all area apartment buildings and co-ops.  This service helps ensure that the alarms are in working order and increases the safety of all tenants.

The Fire Department also hosts the Annual Fireman's Dance, held the second weekend in June. and an annual appreciation pancake breakfast, held the first Sunday in May.


Please consider a financial donation to assist the Fire Department. Checks should be made payable to the Le Sueur Fire Department and can be mailed to City Hall:
City of Le Sueur
203 South Second Street
Le Sueur, MN 56058


  • Chief: Jesse Wenisch
  • 1st Assistant Chief: Shane Meyer
  • 2nd Assistant Chief: Kevin Brandt
  • Captain: Jose Luna
  • Captain: Peter Burns
  • Lieutenant: Scott VonLehe
  • Lieutenant: Justin Nielsen